Masters Theses

Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Science


Agricultural Extension

Major Professor

C. E. Allred

Committee Members

W. R. Woolrich


The Southern Appalachian area, as defined by Federal agencies embraces the Great Smokies, the Cumberland Plateau, and all valleys among or lying between them. As thus defined the area includes the entire eastern end of the state as far west as the western border of the Plateau. This includes all or portions of 45 counties, or almost half the counties of the state.

In studying conditions in those counties it seemed desirable to have similar data for the other sections of the state, for comparative purposes, or to serve as measuring sticks fbr conditions in the mountain section also, it does not require a great deal more time to compile the data for all the counties than to pick them out for half the counties. Hence it was decided, in assembling and analyzing the Southern Appalachian data for Tennessee, to include similar data for the other sections of the state.

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."