Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Music



Major Professor

Andrew L. Sigler

Committee Members

Barbara A. Murphy, Jorge Variego


Symphony No. 1 is a three-movement composition for full orchestra. This piece is composed in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the degree Master of Music with a concentration in Composition from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The symphony was composed during the 2015-2016 academic year and is roughly twenty-two minutes in length. The first movement is written in sonata form with prefacing material that encapsulates the essence of an Adagio as well. The second movement is a lighthearted scherzo and trio with elements of sonata form. The final movement is an Allegro in modified rondo form that recapitulates previous themes with an extended march that serves as a replacement for the final A section.

This document will analyze the melodic, harmonic, rhythmic, and formal structures of these three movements, as well as compare and contrast the piece with other classical works from the eighteenth, nineteenth, and twentieth centuries. This thesis will also provide an explanation of compositional approaches to show the musical influences that have shaped the writing of Symphony No. 1.

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."

Included in

Composition Commons