Masters Theses

Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Music



Major Professor

Andrew L. Sigler

Committee Members

Brenden McConville, Barbra Murphy


Requiem for the Transient is a six-movement piece of music for full orchestra and choir. The six movements are the “Prelude,” “Introit,” “Sequentia,” “Agnus Dei,” “Lux Aeterna,” and “In Paradisum,” As with most Requiems, the music is a setting of prayers from the Roman Missal. Historically composers have used various prayer choices, sometimes even including texts outside of the Missal. Requiem for the Transient contains only one source of text outside of the Missal; the first movement, “Prelude”, uses text from the New King James version of Ecclesiastes 12:1-7.

This document will compare and contrast Requiem for the Transient with other works from the twentieth and twenty-first century with a focus on the melodic, harmonic, and rhythmic construction of key sections of music. The Requiem will also be compared to other notable Requiems ranging back as far as Mozart. This thesis will provide an explanation of compositional approaches to show the musical influences that have directly, or indirectly, influenced the writing of Requiem for the Transient.

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."