Chancellor's Professors

Appointment as a Chancellor’s Professor constitutes the highest lifetime honor that can be accorded to a member of the faculty of the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. This new designation recognizes extraordinary, nationally or internationally recognized, scholarly attainment in an individual discipline or field as well as a record of excellence in teaching and service to the Knoxville campus of the University of Tennessee.

Chancellor’s Professor Joy T. DeSensi, professor of exercise, sport and leisure studies, College of Education, Health and Human Sciences

Chancellor’s Professor Charles Glisson, distinguished professor of Social Work

Chancellor’s Professor Sally Horn, professor of Geography

Chancellor’s Professor Harry “Hap” McSween, Head of the Department of Earth and Planetary Sciences

Chancellor’s Professor George Pharr, Head of the Materials Science and Engineering Department

Chancellor’s Professor Carol Tenopir, professor of Information Sciences in the College of Communication and Information

Chancellor's Professor Jeffrey M. Becker, Head of the Department of Microbiology

Chancellor's Professor Suzanne Lenhart, professor of Mathematics

Chancellor's Professor Lawrence Townsend, Robert M. Condra Professor of Nuclear Engineering

Chancellor's Professor Beauvais Lyons, James R. Cox Professor of Art

Chancellor's Professor William "Bill" Fox, the William B. Stokely Distinguished Professor of Business and Director of UT's Center for Business and Economic Research (CBER)