Masters Theses

Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Music



Major Professor

Kenneth A. Jacobs

Committee Members

James C. Fellenbaum, D. Keith McClelland


The Concerto for Violin and Orchestra is a three-movement composition for solo violin accompanied by a medium-sized symphonic ensemble. This piece is composed in partial fulfillment of the requirements of the degree Master of Music with a concentration in Composition from the University of Tennessee, Knoxville. The Concerto was composed during the 2012-2013 academic year. This paper provides a narrative analysis of the Concerto in terms of the parameters of its musical content and their relationships. Furthermore, references are made to related aspects of influential compositions of the last century. Compositions by Samuel Barber, Béla Bartók, Alban Berg, Paul Hindemith, Dmitry Kabalevsky, Sergey Prokofiev, Jean Sibelius, and Igor Stravinsky are included in this study. Chapter topics include genre, form, melody, harmony, rhythm, and orchestration.

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."