Masters Theses

Date of Award


Degree Type


Degree Name

Master of Science



Major Professor

B. O. Duggan

Committee Members

C. E. Allred


Foreword - The Survey

In 1922 President H. A. Morgan, of the University of Tennessee, "submitted a plan for the establishment of a Department of Rural Education in the University, whose function should be; 1, to study intensively rural school conditions in the state; 2, to train teachers for the rural schools; 3, to cooperate with the State school authorities in every possible way to make the work of the rural schools ore nearly meet the needs of the rural communities."

Professor B. O. Duggan was placed in charge of this department of the College of Education of the University of Tennessee. Under his direction, educational, economic and social surveys have been made of eight typical counties of Tennessee, and information has been obtained as a basis for the preparation of a program for the improvement of rural life conditions.


(large grayscale file - 49 MB)

Files over 3MB may be slow to open. For best results, right-click and select "save as..."

Included in

Education Commons