Pursuit - The Journal of Undergraduate Research at the University of Tennessee accepts advanced, original, research-based submissions from undergraduate students in all academic disciplines. Graduates may submit their work within one year of their graduation date.

Please make sure to review the Policies of Pursuit prior to submission. If you have questions about your potential submission, please .

Pursuit publishes articles under a Creative Commons Attribution International License.

Current Issue: Volume 8, Issue 1 (2017)

Prefatory Note


Front Matter
Louis James Varriano


Vol. 8 Editorial Board

Louis Varriano

Managing Editor for the Humanities & Social Sciences
Grant Currin

Managing Editor for the Sciences & Engineering
Emalie McMahon

Research Editor
Alina Clay

Research Editor
Patrick McKenzie

Chair of Outreach
Avanti Rangnekar

Vol. 8 Review Board

Amany Alshibli
Brandon Barker
Kimberly Bress
Hera Jay Brown
Jesse Buffaloe
Esther Choo
Will Clifft
Sophia Cui
Lauren DesJardins
Lora Doherty
Codi Drake
Ainsley Ellington
Carrie Elliott
Robby Ferguson
Ian Francis
Chrissy Freeland
Noah Frere
Will Gabelman
Will Gilman
Ally Glover
Andrew Hagy
Matthew Herald
Tyler Kibbey
Jordan Leith
Andrew Leming
Jason Liang
Mike Lidwin
Bryson Lype
Jeremy McDuffie
Rachel Mersch
Catherine Moore
Alexandria Nelson
Victoria Nelson
Ravi Patel
Steven Patrick
David Perryman
Caitlin Pinkard
Kaylie Richard
Grant Rigney
Brandon Rowell
Chad Smith
Patrick Sonnenberg
Meghan Stuart
Alexander Tripp
Anagha Uppal
Kellie Veltri
Brandon Wilbanks
Alec Yen

Faculty & Staff

Advisors & Reviewers

Gladys Alexandre
Associate Head, Professor
Biochemistry & Cellular and Molecular Biology

Stephen Blackwell
Modern Foreign Languages & Literatures

Rachel Caldwell
Scholarly Communication Librarian
University Libraries

Kristina Cantin
Asst. Director, Advising and Research
Honors and Scholars Program

Claudia J. Rawn
Associate Professor
Materials Science and Engineering

Office of Research

Taylor Eighmy
Vice Chancellor for Research and Engagement

Marisa Moazen
Office of Undergraduate Research