

University of Tennessee, Knoxville

TRACE: Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange

Graduate Council Minutes

Graduate Council

8-18-2011

Graduate Council Minutes - August 18, 2011

Graduate Council

Follow this and additional works at: https://trace.tennessee.edu/utk_gcminutes

Recommended Citation

Graduate Council, "Graduate Council Minutes - August 18, 2011" (2011). *Graduate Council Minutes*. https://trace.tennessee.edu/utk_gcminutes/22

This Meeting Minutes is brought to you for free and open access by the Graduate Council at TRACE: Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange. It has been accepted for inclusion in Graduate Council Minutes by an authorized administrator of TRACE: Tennessee Research and Creative Exchange. For more information, please contact trace@utk.edu.

THE UNIVERSITY OF TENNESSEE

August 18, 2011 Minutes

Members Present

David Anderson, Pam Angelle, Jane Bellamy, Ben Blalock, Chris Boake, Marianne Breinig, Ralph Brockett (Chair Elect), David Buckley for Donald Hodges, Luis Cano, George Dodds, Michael Essington, Patricia Freeland, Tom George, Will Gibbons, Heather Grossner for Todd Skelton, Frank Guess, Lee Han, Steve Kania, Jan Lee, Leann Luna, Catherine Luther, Zhongguo Ma, Sibyl Marshall, Jennifer Morrow, Joann Ng Hartmann for Pia Wood, Blanche O'Bannon, Stefanie Ohnesorg, Masood Parang, Christian Parigger, Jeff Phillips, Gregory Reed, Marian Roman, Rita Smith, John Stier, Christian Vossler, Candace White, Michael Zemel (Chair), Songning Zhang, Ernest Brothers, Catherine Cox, Joy DeSensi, Gay Henegar, Yvonne Kilpatrick, Kay Reed.

The Graduate Council meeting was called to order by Michael Zemel on Thursday, August 18, 2011, at 3:00 p.m. in the Multipurpose Room, Black Cultural Center.

1. Welcome by Faculty Senate President

Vincent Anfara, Faculty Senate President, presented Michael Essington with a Certificate of Appreciation for serving as 2010 – 2011 Graduate Council Chair. He welcomed the 2011 – 2012 Graduate Council, and thanked Michael Zemel for serving as Chair and Ralph Brockett for serving as Chair Elect.

2. Minutes of the Preceding Meeting

The minutes of the April 14, 2011 meeting were approved by the Graduate Council.

3. Committee Reports

Academic Policy Committee

Stefanie Ohnesorg, Chair of the Academic Policy Committee, shared some of the topics to be discussed by the committee this year:

- Doctoral committee guideline
- Admissions requirements
- Technology use in thesis/dissertation defenses

Appeals Committee

Marianne Breinig, Chair of the Appeals Committee, reported that the committee only meets when there is an appeal. It appears that several appeals have the same themes, so the committee would like to summarize these themes.

Credentials Committee

Steven Kania, Member of the Credentials Committee, reported on the August 11, 2011 meeting. (Attachment 1)

• The Council approved unanimously the three recommendations for faculty approval to direct dissertations.

Curriculum Committee

Sibyl Marshall, Chair of the Curriculum Committee, shared some of the topics to be discussed by the committee this year, including basic standards for programs to add information specific to their programs.

4. Orientation of Members to Graduate Council

Executive Committee

Michael Zemel, Chair, reported on the August 12, 2011 meeting. Executive Committee is composed of committee chairs, elected officers of Graduate Council, and responsible Graduate School administrators. They set goals and topics to be discussed at the Graduate Council meetings.

Graduate Deans' Group

Joy DeSensi, Chair of the Graduate Deans' Group, shared the purpose of the committee and some examples of topics discussed by the committee.

- The Graduate Deans' Group meets five times a year to provide issues, advice, and counsel to the Graduate Council from an administrative perspective.
- The Graduate Deans' Group is the liaison between the Graduate Council and the Colleges and their departments.
- Examples of topics discussed include diversity recruitment efforts in colleges, evaluation of graduate teaching associates and assistants, changes in the GRE, approved Directors of Graduate Studies Responsibilities, approved Department/Program Graduate Student Handbook Template, and Office of Graduate Training and Mentorship.
- Hard copies of the 2011 2012 Department/Program Graduate Student Handbooks are due in the Graduate School Office today.

5. Brief Meetings of Committees

Chairs of the Academic Policy Committee, Credentials Committee, Curriculum Committee, Appeals Committee, and Graduate Deans' Group met briefly with their members.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:32 p.m.

Respectfully Submitted,

Gay Henegar Secretary to Graduate Council

ATTACHMENT 1 CREDENTIALS COMMITTEE THURSDAY, AUGUST 11, 2011, 3:30 – 5:00 P.M. 111 STUDENT SERVICES BUILDING, GRADUATE SCHOOL CONFERENCE ROOM

Members Present: Donald Hodges (Chair), David Anderson, Jane Bellamy, Ben Blalock, Frank Guess (by electronic vote), Stephen Kania, David Keffer, Kay Reed.

The meeting was called to order at 3:30 p.m. by Donald Hodges, Chair.

The following faculty members were recommended for approval by the Graduate Council to direct dissertations as follows:

Faculty Member	Rank	Current Department	Approval
Davis, Lloyd	Professor, UTSI	Physics	August 2021, 10 years continuing
Mountain, Deidra	Assistant Professor, Non- Tenure Track, Graduate School of Medicine	Comparative and Experimental Medicine	August 2016, 5 years
Weitering, Hanno	Professor	Physics	August 2021, 10 years continuing

The meeting adjourned at 4:55 p.m.